Hey everyone it’s Deven and here I am. Ah it’s summer. The season of relaxation. School’s over, work is winding down. It’s a nice season.

It’s also a good season for anime. And here are the anime that I’ll be reviewing.

I’m deciding to take a different style with my preview this season. I’m going to give you what I’m reviewing, what I’m just watching, and what I’m watching from past seasons. The reason is because it would be a really short post if I just told you what I’m reviewing.

I’m only reviewing one thing this summer. The main reason being that I’m suffering from a bit of burnout then again all of us at AnimeCorps are. Typically you see me and Nick review at least three anime each. However he’s only doing one and I’m just doing two.

The main reason being that it’s been a year since we started our anime blogs. While I don’t know his reasons, I know mine. I’m tired and I want a bit of free time to write my novel. See anime reviews, especially when you have a job or get behind, take up a lot of your time to make sure that you get it right. I just want to rest, recharge, and write my novel this summer so I can be fully recharged for school this fall and have my novel done by the end of this summer.

Also a little update. Because I fell behind, my post Deven Says will be changed from talking about the treatment and use of Lolis in anime to a general post about my video gaming and E3 2015. I’m really interested in telling you what I thought of some of the stuff that went down there.

The little novelette I plan on posting here, Dragon Crystal Cavern, will be pushed back towards late July to give me a chance to write it out. Don’t worry it’s still coming and in a way you guys get the best version. A friend advised me that the anime references in my novel would be hard to understand as well as the honorifics occasionally used by Japanese characters so she advised me to get rid of them. However you guys will get the story the way that I always want to write it. Good for you right?

So now that’s taken care of let’s go!

Reviewing

I’m only reviewing new one thing. Remember no matter what I will always review Fairy Tail. That’s something that isn’t going to change.

Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei Herz

Illyasviel von Einzbern is an ordinary elementary school student who becomes a magical girl when the magical Kaleidostick Ruby deems her a more suitable master than the sorceress, Rin Tosaka. Rin, who had been tasked by the wizard Zelretch to collect the seven Class Cards containing the spirits of Heroic Spirits from legend, finds that she is unable to change Ruby’s mind and must supervise Illya in completing the task of collecting the Class Cards. During Illya’s adventures, she receives a friend and rival in a girl named Miyu, the contracted master of the Kaleidostick Sapphire, which similarly abandoned its original master and Rin’s rival, Luvia Edelfelt.

After a series of battles, Illya and Miyu were able to collect all Cards and became good friends, while Rin and Luvia remained in Japan by the order of Zelretch. However, the appearance of Kuro, a girl with a striking resemblance to Illya, soon complicates their lives as she attempts to eliminate Illya.

fe1ae0f910f4d0b563e98152c870b5881424874671_full

Ah the only thing I really need to review. I recently finished reading the manga and I understand why the promo’s are so fanservicey. IF they weren’t and they went into the meat of the season then we’d have major spoilers. So they went with the least spoilerish stuff.

I personally can’t wait. Very meta revenge here. I’m also hoping for an announcement for 3rei right after the 2wei.

Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya 2wei Herz begins July 25th. I guess because it’s going to be a 10 episode season again because the second manga isn’t really that long, only 27 chapters.

Watching

I’m definitely watching a lot more anime this season. Usually I just watch what I’m reviewing unless it’s something that really draws me in. Occasionally I’ll watch what the other members of AnimeCorps are reviewing but that’s seldom.

I’ve resolved to use this extra time that I’m not reviewing to watch a bit more anime. So here’s everything I’m watching as well as my thoughts on it.

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime

Shirayuki is a normal citizen of the kingdom of Tanbarun with one unique feature: her red hair. When the prince of Tanbarun orders her to become his concubine because of this, she cuts her hair and escapes to the neighboring kingdom of Clarines. On her way there, she meets and befriends Prince Zen and his two aides. When Zen is poisoned by an apple meant for her, Shirayuki successfully obtains the antidote and decides to accompany the trio to Clarines. Shortly thereafter, Shirayuki passes an exam for a position to train in the palace as a pharmacist. The story follows Shirayuki and her friends as she finds her place in Clarines and carries out her duties as a court pharmacist

Akagami.no.Shirayukihime.full.1383666

Hmm this isn’t what I expected. I must have misread the cast list when I first looked at it. I thought that Shirayuki would be done by Maaya Sakamoto. That’s what drew me in. However I still love Saori Hayami and the premise of the show is really interesting too. I really want to see how this turns out.

Akagami no Shirayuki-hime will premiere on July 7th.

Gakkou Gurashi

Gakkou+Gurashi!+Anime+adaptation

The story revolves around four girls who decide to stay over at school: the energetic Yuki Takeya, the shovel-loving Rumi, the center of the group Rurii, who brings everyone together, and Megu, the spacey school adviser. However, through mysterious circumstances, the girls find themselves the final survivors in a zombie attack, and continue to live at the school.

I may have snarked at my fellow AnimeCorps writer Tsuyuki about this show but I’m actually interested in this show. More for the psychological aspects of it though. Inori Minase of Spring Season’s Danmachi is going to be the lead so that definitely makes me curious to watch it.

Gakkou Gurashi premieres July 9th.

Joukamachi no Dandelion

Joukamachi-no-Dandelion-Visual-Art-SD

In the story, the everyday lives of the nine super-powered siblings of the royal family are monitored by more than 200 surveillance cameras and broadcast nationwide. The people of the nation who are watching the broadcast will have the ability to elect the next monarch. The story focuses on Akane, the third-oldest sister who can manipulate gravity. She is shy and desperately does not want to be caught on camera.

We don’t have much info on this one yet but the blurb calls to me. I really like the little reality show style of it. I can expect some good funny moments out of it.

Joukamachi no Dandelion premieres July 3rd.

Sora ga Seiyuu

eea47d97d4fe8a22bc85832ca36d52b11421240069_full

The original four-panel manga centers on Futaba Ichinose, Ichigo Moesaki, and Rin Kohana, three rookie voice actresses. The manga features small but humorous observations of the voice actor industry. Hajimemashite launched the manga at the winter Comiket event in 2011, and the duo have released new issues at Comiket events since then.

We had the anime that went into the side of the creators of anime in Shirobako. Now it’s time to look at the seiyuu side of the business. After all not every seiyuu is a Minori Chihara. They all start at the bottom and I’m interested in seeing their journey.

Sora ga Seiyuu premieres July 7th.

Monster Musume no Iru Nichijou

monster_musume_anime_visual_2_by_fu_reiji-d8pyfms

Monsters: they’re real, and they want to date us!

Three years ago, the world learned that harpies, centaurs, catgirls, and all manners of fabulous creatures are not merely fiction; they are flesh and blood – not to mention scale, feather, horn, and fang. Thanks to the “Cultural Exchange Between Species Act,” these once-mythical creatures have assimilated into society, or at least, they’re trying.

When a hapless human teenager named Kurusu Kimihito is inducted as a “volunteer” into the government exchange program, his world is turned upside down. A snake-like lamia named Miia comes to live with him, and it is Kurusu’s job to take care of her and make sure she integrates into his everyday life.

Unfortunately for Kurusu, Miia is undeniably sexy, and the law against interspecies breeding is very strict. Even worse, when a ravishing centaur girl and a flirtatious harpy move in, what’s a full-blooded teenage human with raging hormones to do?!

There was and still is a time where one young seiyuu slowly started to take control of the business. She has started a revolution of her own solely with her adorable characters and voice.

Let’s begin the Sora Amamiya revolution!!!!

It seems that she’s been getting a lot of high level roles in a short period of time. Isshuukan Friends apparently was just the beginning though.

And as you know I always need some type of harem anime to watch or review or my life just doesn’t feel right.

I’ll be checking this out.

Monster Musume premieres July 8th.

Million Doll

The original manga revolves around Suuko, an idol-loving hikikomori who has one ability: to make any idol popular through the power of blogging. She puts her sights on the Fukuoka idol Itorio and tries to make her sell more, but she is impeded by the charismatic idol Ryuusan and the underground idol Mariko.

Million_Doll_promotional_image

It’s supposed to be one of the shorts this season but I’m going to like it. I reminds me of how much power we have as anime bloggers. You say that we don’t have power? The words that we say can sway or make people check out anime or manga that they never would have even thought to look at.

I’ll be looking at it solely for that reason as well as it has idols.

Million Doll premieres July 7th.

Okusama ga Seitokaicho!

The story begins with Izumi Hayato running to be student body president. But when a beautiful girl swings in promising the liberalization of love while flinging condoms into the audience, he ends up losing to her and becoming the vice president. At the student council meeting, the newly-elected president invites herself over to Izumi’s house, where she promptly announces she is to become Izumi’s wife thanks to an agreement – facilitated by alcohol – made between their parents when they were only 3.

okusama_ga_seitokaichou

Ah a very fanservicey short. It’s nothing like the goodness of it. I want to see this one soo bad!

Okusama ga Seitokaicho! premieres July 2nd.

And that’s it for my watching list. Now for the final one, the ones from the past season I’m checking out.

Previous Season Look

Hibike! Euphonium

jdfEWO

I’m tragically impatient so I just planned to wait until it was over so I can just marathon the entire thing. I mostly got draw in by the Kumiko x Reina yuri but there’s more that I can like. I believe one of the seiyuu from Akuma no Riddle is here too, Chika Anzai. Hmm I always like Suzu Shuto from Akuma no Riddle. My interest is peaked.

THE iDOLM@STER: Cinderella Girls

THE.iDOLM@STER-.Cinderella.Girls.full.1569033

The main reason I want to watch this one is because I want to eventually to a compare and contrast post with Idolmaster Cinderella Girls vs. Love Live. However I really want to see Anatasia though. She’s so cute. However there’s only one Harasho in my life and that’s Eli!!! She better not use it!

Yuri Kuma Arashi

yuri This is the only show I’ll be watching in English rather than Japanese. I love the dynamic that Monica Rial and Jamie Marchi have. They are a comedic dream team. I can’t wait to check this out.

So with that I’m done. My summer’s going to be pretty packed with anime. All of them are interesting and I can’t wait to check some of them out.

So until the start of the Summer Season 2015,
Later Days

You can ask me as many questions as you want on Ask.fm and you can follow me on Twitter to know when my new reviews are coming out. You’ll know when stuff comes out right when it does! 🙂

Also check out my right hand man, SkyCorps on AnimeWithSky where I’m also a writer. We’ve got some good reviews from all the writers, Speculations, Light Novel Reviews, and Manga Chapters Reviews. What are you waiting for? Come and check us out! You won’t regret it!

Also I decided to affiliate with Play-Asia.

play-asia_logo

Why? Because they sell Google Play and iTunes cards! If you’re playing Love Live and buying your Love Gems, you can get your Google Play and iTunes credit here:

Google Play

Google Play Card (US$10 / for US accounts only)

Google Play Card (US$25 / for US accounts only)

iTunes

iTunes Card (US$ 10 / for US accounts only)

iTunes Card (US$ 15 / for US accounts only)

Feel free to buy here or not. Just know that you’ll be supporting AnimeThief a little bit and getting those Super Rare and Ultra Rare cards!

